Sandbar Island Beach Resort, Bolobadiangan, Concepcion, Iloilo

Thanks to Cebupacific’s 147 promo last 29 November 2010. I was able to book my family for Iloilo in a very low fare!
I have planned to treat my parents on a vacation for a while when I found that Cebupafic has a promo. I immediately look for slots in Tagbilaran (I wanna return there since I really enjoyed my first visit) but found none. So I decided to find another destination. Luckily, there were still slots for Iloilo. I booked and started planning the trip.

Planning:

My original plan was to go to Guimaras and it was the only tourist spot I know. However, during my research, a certain island in Concepcion caught my attention. I started to change my plans and focus on Sandbar Island Resort. I gathered all the information I needed (how to get there, contact person, expenses) and started to make our itinerary.

Since it was only a short visit (2 days), it is easier for me to finish the plan.

My boyfriend contacted Kuya Sanny (Sandbar Island Resort’s contact person) for a reservation and informed him our ETA so that he can fetch us in Concepcion. During this time, I was finalizing our expenses.

 Now that everything is settled! We waited for the date and hoped for a good weather!

During the trip:

Upon arrival at Iloilo International Airport, we immediately got our baggage and hopped out of the airport. We contacted Kuya Sanny and informed him of our arrival.

Outside, someone approached us and asked for our destination. We negotiated and agreed to pay P500.00 for the van. We were dropped off at Tagbak Terminal in Jaro.

We saw the HPQ bus and immediately went inside. But we waited for at least 30 mins before the driver started the engine. We were all so excited and we couldn’t sleep even for the 3-hour trip to Concepcion. (How to get to Concepcion from Iloilo International airport, click here)

We reached Concepcion around 10:00 AM. We informed Kuya Sanny that we arrived in Concepcion and will buy first provisions for our stay in the island.

At 10:30 AM, we were on our way to Sandbar Island Resort. During our boat trip, we were all eager to see the island!

We reached the island at 11:00 AM; too are amazement! Crystal clear waters, white sand and let’s not forget a very sunny day! A perfect vacation!

At around 3:00 PM, we got ready for the island hopping. Our destination was Agho Islandand Pan de Azucar Island (P500.00 per island).

Agho Island, is an island with fine white sand beach. It was so relaxing; we just sat there and enjoyed the view. The sand in Agho is finer than in Sandbar Island. We paid 200 pesos (as an entrance fee) for the group.

Pan de Azucar Island, Kuya Sanny said that this is the biggest island in Concepcion.  For mountaineers, Mt. Manaphag(considered as one of the steepest in the country) is located in this island. The mountain can be seen from Sandbar Island Resort. It towers the island and they say that it is visible even from Negros.  Upon reaching the island, Manong Sonny told us that we will be trekking to Hampangan Rock for a better view of the island.

Since I was with my parents, we were not able to reach the peak except for my boyfriend who continued to ascend while we wait in the not so-high ground. However, we still get to see Mt.Manaphag up close.  😀

Going back to Sandbar Island, we passed by a dugong’s man-made floating home, but we were not lucky to see the gentle creature at that time.

For the rest of the day, we enjoyed the beauty of Sandbar Island. We were able to see the coral garden with giant clams; took pictures and just relaxed.


On our 2nd day, we prepared our breakfast early so that we could enjoy the clear water, the gentle waves and the fine sand.

At around 11:00 AM, we headed back to Concepcion. Time to go home.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

19 comments on “Sandbar Island Beach Resort, Bolobadiangan, Concepcion, Iloilo

  1. Such a nice place! Every time I go to beach resort with my wife and children I recall our good old days during with my high school classmates for we skipped classes to enjoy at the local beach near in our place. What a pleasant view and a place to get visit!

  2. hi there! can i please get the number of kuya Sanny? we are planning to go to Concepcion this June. where did you stay in that Island? i’ve read that there are no restaurants as well… Please please help me with this. i want this trip to be exciting.

  3. The place is lovely, as in super beautiful, the problem is the owner is mukhang pera and impolite… so low daw ang pictorial fee na 500 (actually the agreed price before we went there was 300 pesos) .. it got me thinking what is really their rate???!!!!!!! and with an additional comment of — makabayad gani kami kwatro mil sa video (we can actually pay for 4ok for the video) with this statement i conclude the impoliteness and being money hungry. and we had our reservation since the middle of april, yet when we arrived there we have no place to stay in, but we agreed to stay in much higher rate cottage as well as agreed to transfer to another if the occupants will leave, whats important is that we can change and start immediately the make-up and prenup pics.. then came the money hungry old man owner of the island, saying that we cant stay there because they have guests arriving and have reservation?! we answered that we agree to transfer if the other occupants scheduled for check out is out na.. daw d pa sya magsugot.. i said whats wrong with him, that we’ve already finalize everything with the tourism and yet here he (owner) comes and doesn’t want us to stay anywhere? what does he expect the bride to change clothes in the middle of the sea? so impolite and muney hungry… i was so disappointed because I’ve been there many times even before wen it wasn’t still develop, times when it was still a bare island. doesn’t the owner realized that with prenups the island will be promoted, especially because the videographer has a website to show their finished products. hopefully the management realize their mistake, and will not fall hard on the floor even without rising that high in the tourism industry.. sayang ang place, maganda pa naman

    • Thanks for the feedback. Actually, I noticed na medyo mahal nga yung price nya na binagay samin compare sa iba. Maybe because taga-Manila kami kaya ganun. But di naman sila naging rude sa amin. Anyway, sana marealize nila yung mali nila bago mahuli ang lahat.

  4. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an very long comment but after I clicked
    submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.
    Anyhow, just wanted to say fantastic blog!

Leave a Reply

