Manabu Peak

This is my first climb for 2011 and the second mountain I climbed. Honestly, I was not that prepared (physically!). Again, I was not able to exercise and loose weight (not recommended, you have to be serious in shedding some pounds for trekking)! I was little worried that I might give up.  I remember my first climb (Mt. Batulao), I was gasping every 5 minutes (wahaha)! 🙂 Make sure you’re fit to enjoy it and do not forget safety first!

I was still excited and have my mind set in reaching the peak. This maybe one of the factors that helped me reached the summit and enjoyed the climb.

 

Mt. Manabu is located at Sto. Tomas, Batangas. The jump-off point is Sulok, Brgy. Sta Cruz, Sto. Tomas. It took us 2 hrs to reach the peak where the white cross is located. From the summit, you can see the beautiful views of Mt. Maculot and Mt. Makiling. We took pictures and decided to descend. We reached the grotto in 30-40 minutes where we ate our lunch.  (And took some pictures again :D). From the grotto to jump-off it took us 40 minutes.

Itinerary

7:30 Buendia to Lipa (Lucena or Lipa bound bus) (P120)

9:00 Trike to Sulok (P50 each)

9:30 Start trek

11:30 Summit

3:30 Jump-off

4:15 Trike to Lipa Bus Station (30 each)

5: 00 Lipa to Ortigas (Cubao bound bus) (P124)

photos by Dennis Galvez

Leave a Reply

